Koreless – Lost In Tokyo [Listen]

Fans of minimalist dubstep will no doubt be very exited that Glasgow based producer Koreless has finally released another track. If you have never heard of Lewis Roberts AKA Koreless before, then you would file him next to James Blake, Mount Kimbie and Four Tet in your record collections. His debut 12” was released last year on Pictures Music and is now considered quite a collectable as both tracks on that record have been very highly rated ever since their release, and many people, myself included, have been eagerly awaiting new tracks from him.

Finally late last year, Jamie xx featured a new track in his BBC Essential Mix. That track has now finally had a digital and vinyl release. It is aptly called “Lost In Tokyo”, as I imagine it’s the perfect music to listen to while cruising round Tokyo on a night bus. The vinyl is being released on Jacques Greene’s Vase label and his remix of Lost In Tokyo is on the B-side. You can stream the original track below along with the mix that Koreless did for The Boiler Room, which is one of my favourite Boiler Room mixes and contains both the tracks of his debut 12”.

Koreless – Lost In Tokyo

Boiler Room Mix


The xx – Angels + New album info [News/New Tracks]

“It’s been a long time since we’ve played you anything new. This song is called Angels, it is the first single from our new album, Coexist. We’ve been playing this song live recently, so it feels good to share with you the version we’ve been working on for so long. We hope you like it. xx The xx” – The xx facebook

The xx are finally back with the follow up to their phenomenally successful 2009 debut xx‘. It’s been a while since we’ve heard any new material, something the band are clearly aware of, and after their runaway success The xx have since fascinated me with how exactly they would follow up their minimalist debut.

What they’ve come up with has neither shocked me, nor disappointed me as Angels delivers the sound we’re so familiar with yet steps up its game in terms of maturity in song writing and production polish. It’s an evolution of the sound in every sense of the word. Still incredibly relevant, it’s The xx through and through; and no fan should be disappointed unless they were yearning for a different direction on album number two. It’s a lot more confident as well with Romy Madley-Crofts beautiful vocals appearing more sure and pronounced than previous material. If anything it’s a little short and is missing any sort of climax. Take it as a preview or taster of things to come when Coexist makes it to record store shelves this September. Whatever the reception, it’s guaranteed to be as cinematic and addictive as xx was back in 2009 while retaining all that make The xx such a force in popular music.

Coexist is set for release on 10th September 2012 and can be pre-ordered via The xx website. There are plenty of places to choose from and pre-orders from iTunes or The xx store come with a download of Angels for you to saturate your eardrums with on the run up to release day.

Coexist tracklisting:

  1. Angels
  2. Chained
  3. Fiction
  4. Try
  5. Reunion
  6. Sunset
  7. Missing
  8. Tides
  9. Unfold
  10. Swept Away
  11. Our Song

Official website
The xx on facebook

Neon Canyon [Listen]

Finding information about this artist is surprisingly difficult. What I can tell you is that Neon Canyon is made up of two friends, Mark Webber and Jon Sherman, they’re Canadian and they’re both very talented.

I found this artist through a song by one of my favourite electronic artists Blackbird Blackbird. This track is rather ironically called, We Have To Know, and features Neon Canyon. This by the way is a stunning tune.

Neon Canyon has an electronic, minimalistic dream-like sound. What I love is the simplistic hazy beats which are overlaid with ghostly vocals. As I said they are somewhat mysterious, even their Myspace page is down, but they do have Bandcamp page, which annoyingly doesn’t contain any tracks from my favourite album called, Neon Canyon. I believe this album is free, and i’ve seen it available on a couple of blogs, but i won’t paste a link just in case.

I’m still trying to track down their ‘currently private’ music video on Vimeo, which is for my favourite track called Photosynthesis, which according to all the blogs say is ‘sublime’. They’re such teases.

Here’s a link to their Bandcamp page, and let me know if you find the music video for this awesome track: neoncanyon.bandcamp.com

Photosynthesis by Neon Canyon