Fuck Buttons announce new album Slow Focus, due out 22nd July [News]

Fuck Buttons

Fuck Buttons are finally back with a new album. Out 22nd of July in the UK (23rd for the US) the new record is titled Slow Focus and follows the brilliant 2009 release Tarot Sport; a wonderful building wall of distortion, pounding rhythms and blissful electronics that was backed by one of the greatest live experiences I have ever had. They’ve had a few exciting years culminating in tracks being used at the recent Olympics opening ceremony.

This time around pitchfork reports that Slow Focus will be a self produced effort released via ATP Recordings. Debut Street Horrrsing was produced by Mogwai guitarist John Cummings and Tarot Sport by Andrew Weatherall.

Slow Focus comes in at just 7 tracks so expect some epic pieces as before.

01 Brainfreeze
02 Year of the Dog
03 The Red Wing
04 Sentients
05 Prince’s Prize
06 Stalker
07 Hidden XS

We’ll update as soon as any tracks or audio previews become available.

Source: pitchfork.com


Sounds of the Summer Olympics [Listen & Watch]

While here in Britain we cannot guarantee the summer weather, we can count on some high calibre musical acts to craft the sound of the London games.

First up we have the official song of the games courtesy of Muse. Survival channels all the pomp and ceremony of Muse at their most Queen-like into five minutes of all the over-the-top rock anthem you could wish for. It’s oh so slightly overblown, but so are the games themselves. The track builds and soars in all the appropriate places, to quote Matt Bellamy “it expresses a sense of conviction and determination to win.”

It will be broadcast when the athletes enter the stadium and in the period before medal ceremonies. The track is also set to appear on the group’s next album The 2nd Law, which will be released in September.

A nice promo with archive footage from previous games has been released, can viewed below:

Next we have The Chemical Brothers, I’ve always associated the duo with tearing around tracks at high speed – ever since repeatedly listening to the track Loops of Fury whilst playing Wipeout 2097 on my Playstation in the 90s. So, it seems apt that they’ve been tasked with creating the official Theme For Velodrome. The track takes its cue from Tour de France by Kraftwerk, but builds upon the sound with some heavier beats and some robotic voices. As with the Kraftwerk track the repetitive nature of the songs electronica fits nicely with the pace and movement of the sport. I can already see it sitting well on round-up highlight clips of the cycling.

Unfortunately, it would seem even penning an official tune for the games won’t get you any tickets for the event – “We did ask but no one’s come through yet. At the moment neither of us has any …” revealed Ed Simmons.

Listen to a radio rip from  Zane Lowe’s Radio 1 show here:

Other official Olympics songs include: Good Morning to the Night by Elton John vs Pnau, and Good Life by Delphic.

As for the television coverage, the BBC are running their own idents for the broadcasting of the games and have approached the band Elbow to write the theme. This makes perfect sense as their track One Day Like This has pretty much been featured on every sporting broadcast by every broadcaster since its release in 2008. Elbow have composed a six-minute track called First Steps, with a choir taking on the vocals.

The track is suitably epic and has a main melodic theme that can be pumped up for the victorious moments and toned down for the quieter more contemplative losing reactions.

A rather nice ident has been created by RKCR/Y&R and it can be seen below, along with a clip of the Elbow track:

Muse band website

The Chemical Brothers website

Elbow band website

BBC 2012 website