Slowly Rolling Camera – Dream A Life [Listen]

Slowly Rolling Camera

Often a bands name is a statement of how they see themselves, sometimes it’s simply to grab the attention or to make a statement. Rarely a bands name is so synonymous with the music; a wonderful embodiment of what you hear and what you read on the page (or web browser in this case). Of course that’s all very subjective, and a sweeping statement of sorts, but take a look at that name, Slowly Rolling Camera, before you hit play and take a few seconds to imagine what you are about to hear. Continue reading


The Universal Wax Top 12 of ’12 – Part One

It’s that time of the year again when music blogs worldwide take a few paragraphs to discuss their favourite albums of the year and make a comprehensive list out of it; who are we to break the trend, so without further ado I present to you the Universal Wax Top 12 of ’12. In no particular order and over the course of three parts, each of us will be taking four of the albums released this year that we are particularly fond of and devoting a few sentences to why you should check it out. If you are already familiar with them let us know what you think, why not take the time to let us know your top 12 albums of 2012?  – Sam

Top 12 of 12 Covers-Part One

Continue reading

The xx – Angels + New album info [News/New Tracks]

“It’s been a long time since we’ve played you anything new. This song is called Angels, it is the first single from our new album, Coexist. We’ve been playing this song live recently, so it feels good to share with you the version we’ve been working on for so long. We hope you like it. xx The xx” – The xx facebook

The xx are finally back with the follow up to their phenomenally successful 2009 debut xx‘. It’s been a while since we’ve heard any new material, something the band are clearly aware of, and after their runaway success The xx have since fascinated me with how exactly they would follow up their minimalist debut.

What they’ve come up with has neither shocked me, nor disappointed me as Angels delivers the sound we’re so familiar with yet steps up its game in terms of maturity in song writing and production polish. It’s an evolution of the sound in every sense of the word. Still incredibly relevant, it’s The xx through and through; and no fan should be disappointed unless they were yearning for a different direction on album number two. It’s a lot more confident as well with Romy Madley-Crofts beautiful vocals appearing more sure and pronounced than previous material. If anything it’s a little short and is missing any sort of climax. Take it as a preview or taster of things to come when Coexist makes it to record store shelves this September. Whatever the reception, it’s guaranteed to be as cinematic and addictive as xx was back in 2009 while retaining all that make The xx such a force in popular music.

Coexist is set for release on 10th September 2012 and can be pre-ordered via The xx website. There are plenty of places to choose from and pre-orders from iTunes or The xx store come with a download of Angels for you to saturate your eardrums with on the run up to release day.

Coexist tracklisting:

  1. Angels
  2. Chained
  3. Fiction
  4. Try
  5. Reunion
  6. Sunset
  7. Missing
  8. Tides
  9. Unfold
  10. Swept Away
  11. Our Song

Official website
The xx on facebook

Hidden Orchestra announce new album ‘Archipelago’ + Listen to new single ‘Vorka’ [News]

Update: The debut single from Archipelago has since been debuted on It’s an upbeat and slightly more playful sound for the Hidden Orchestra yet retains the sweeping cinematic feel of their debut and live shows. The single is officially out in September, in the mean time have a listen on Soundcloud.

Original Story:

Hidden Orchestra have announced ‘Archipelago’ as the follow up to their inspired 2010 debut Nightwalks. It’s due October 1st on Tru Thoughts, which is tantalisingly close yet so very far…

Sadly there are no audio samples as yet. In the mean time check out Footsteps from the debut Nightwalks. Hidden Orchestra’s sound can be described as a sweeping,emotional and incredibly cinematic experience with strong jazz and classical influences layer with organic sampling.

On a side note, I’m particularly fond of the continuity between artwork which comes courtesy of Norman Ackroyd.